Transana Workshop

July 2024

The July 2024 Workshop

I will present a comprehensive ‘Qualitative Analysis with Transana” online workshop in July, 2024.  The workshop will cover both the concepts behind qualitative analysis using Transana, and the mechanics of how to successfully carry out a complete qualitative research project from beginning to end for media, text, PDF, and still image data.  The workshop will meet twice per week for about three hours per session.  Participants will learn better if they spend some time between sessions practicing the skills presented.

Workshop Details:

The workshop will meet online Tuesdays and Thursdays starting July 9, 2024 at 15:00 GMT.  This translates to the following times internationally:

City 15:00 GMT
Los Angeles, San Francisco, Portland, Seattle 8:00 am PDT
Chicago, St. Louis, Mexico City 10:00 am CDT
New York, Boston, Atlanta, Toronto 11:00 am EDT
Rio de Janeiro 12:00 noon BRT
London 4:00 pm BST
Paris, Madrid, Berlin, Rome, Copenhagen, Johannesburg 5:00 pm CEST, SAST
Ankara 6:00 pm EEST

The cost of the workshop is $200 per participant.  Registration will be limited to 15 participants.

Each session will last about 3 hours.

Participants are strongly encouraged to attend the online workshop sessions live.  You will learn better if you are present, learning actively, and asking questions.  However, I will record each session and make the recordings available online.  I understand that life sometimes gets in the way.

Participants should already have access to Transana Professional or Transana Multiuser.  If you have Transana Basic or have not yet licensed Transana, let me know and I will provide you with a temporary copy of the software to use for the workshop.

Participants are encouraged to practice skills between sessions using their own data.  You will understand and retain workshop concepts much better with practice of each of the skills presented.  And each session’s new concepts build on mastery of the previous session’s material.

Registration may be cancelled by June 30th, subject to a $30 cancellation fee.  No refunds will be issued after that date.  However, if we have fewer than 5 registrants by June 30th, the workshop will be cancelled and registrants will receive a full refund.

Tentative Schedule

The individual workshop sessions will follow this general outline:

July 9 2024, Session 1: Introduction, Bringing data into Transana, Automated Transcription

Introduction and Overview of Transana

A quick overview of the scope of what you can do with Transana.  This lays the groundwork for the following sessions.

Bringing Data Into Transana

We will cover how to bring raw data into Transana and how to prepare for analysis.  Text, PDF, still image, audio, and video data will be demonstrated.

We will also discuss Transana’s options for automated transcription of media data, with an emphasis on the advantages of each approach.

July 11, 2024, Session 2: Manual Transcription, Transcription as an Analytic Act

Manual Transcription

Transana offers many tools for manual translation. Even with the advent of automated transcription, researchers need to know how to correct transcripts and add Time Codes.

Transcription as an Analytic Act

There are many ways to transcribe media data beyond verbatim transcription. Transana facilitates a wide range of transcript types that can be useful in different analytic scenarios.

July 16 and 18, Sessions 3 and 4: Assigning Meaning to Selections

Assigning Meaning to Selections : Coding and Categorization

Transana provides flexible and powerful tools for assigning analytic meaning to selections of your text, PDF, still image, and media data.  This week, we will explore the overlapping systems Transana offers to help you make sense of your data, Coding and Categorization.  These systems provide different tools that allow researchers to address the specific needs of their research, to fully support different qualitative techniques and methodologies, and to adapt to differing analytic needs as the qualitative analytic process moves forward.

Coding is the process of developing a coding system and applying codes to analytic selections within your data.  This system can be fast and flexible.

Categorization is the process of sorting your analytic selections into meaningful groups.  This system can be powerful, visual, and easily interpreted.

Together, they offer a powerful, flexible set of analytic moves that allow you to represent your data the way that works best for you, for your methodology, and for your analytic needs.

July 23, Session 5: Making Sense of Coded and Categorized Data

Making Sense of Coded and Categorized Data

You will learn how to use Transana’s Reports, Maps, and Graphs, which provide a number of tools for making sense out of data that we have coded and categorized.

Searches

We will explore Transana’s Search tools that allow you to explore your coding, categorization, and selection text in a variety of sophisticated ways.  We will also explore Transana’s Search Matrix tool.

Transana’s Writing Tools

Transana provides tools for a various kinds of analytic writing.  We will explore Notes for writing analytic memos, the Notes Browser for exploring Notes, and we will introduce Research Journals.  Research Journals allow analytic and collaborative writing within the analytic tool, including creating first drafts of results and findings.  We will look at the importance of hyperlinks as a means to stay close to your qualitative data all the way through the qualitative writing-up process.

July 25, Session 6: Advanced Analysis in Transana

Advanced Analysis of Media Data

While it is likely we will have mentioned these techniques in passing in earlier Workshop sessions, today we will focus on details of

* capturing and using multiple simultaneous media files to analyze complex environments,

* using multiple simultaneous transcripts to implement analytic layers, and

* making it possible for multiple researchers to simultaneously collaborate on qualitative analysis.

* analysis of online survey data.

* change propagation

Questions, Questions, and More Questions.

I’ll keep answering questions and demonstrating techniques as long as you keep asking questions.